Looking back on Get in Touch | Seda Baskurt

DSCN0420

Seda Baskurt

Am delighted to present the inspirational and useful reflection of our former Get in Touch spouse: Seda Baskurt (Turkey, psychologist). She as been an active member of our Get in Touch Family for years. In 2014 she started to join the Get in Touch program until she had to leave us in July 2015  for a one year stay back home in the US , where she grew up. After returning back again to The Netherlands, she and her husband moved to a northern part of Holland. We’ve missed her ever since, but at the same time are happy that they found a good place to build their new life in The Netherlands!

Below you’ll find her answers on the GiT ‘looking back’ questionnaire for GiT spouses who had to leave GiT for various reasons.

Thanks a lot, dear Seda .. and welcome anytime whenever you’re visiting Eindhoven .. :)!

GENERAL OPINION ABOUT THE GIT PROGRAM

My general opinion about the program is that it is organized. There is always something to do every week which made me look forward to come to. The communication is very consistent. Every activity is reached out the all members via e-mail which I think was very nice. The e-mails are very detailed about what will happen and where we are supposed to meet.

After each event sharing pictures on Facebook was also good to see which helped me with saving memories with friends. The GIT FB group is an excellent way to connect members. Even afterwards you leave the group you somewhat stay in contact with everyone.

I really enjoyed every event. They were also very helpful for us to see around the town. There were places I didn’t know which I found out with GIT.

WHICH GIT MEETING, TRIP, TOUR, WORKSHOP DID YOU LIKE MOST?

I really enjoyed the trip to Strijp-S because the place looks so empty from outside yet there are a lot to see from the inside. It looked like a abandoned place which I thought there might not be much to see but I was wrong.

Also Van Abbemuseum!!! My most favorite one was Ahmet Ogut exhibition. By the way I really love Daniel’s tours.

WHICH GIT MEETING, TRIP, TOUR, WORKSHOP DID YOU LIKE LEAST?

None.

IN WHICH (EXTRA) GIT ACTIVITIES HAVE YOU BEEN ACTIVELY INVOLVED?

GIT Dutch Class 

It was a great opportunity to learn Dutch. We didn’t only learn grammar, we learned so much about Dutch culture by sharing experiences and comparing/contrasting with each other.

GIT Workshops

I have led one workshop with the GIT. It was Turkish cooking. It is a great way to share interests with others. I was very excited to share a dish with friends.

GIT Blog

I like to write so I thought I would share my feelings in the blogs. After every event Carola asks everyone voluntarily to share their thoughts on the blog. I wrote four blog posts: 1) ‘A forgotten place’ (about the library), 2) ‘A visit to Turkish Mosque’, 3) ‘Strijp-S, a forbidden city‘, and 4) ‘Masterchef Recipe: Yaprak Sarmasi’

Extra GIT Events

The events are great if you are new in the town, then most members lose interest because they repeat. But no matter what I enjoyed going to each one of them.

GiT dance/music groups

Even though I didn’t dance I really enjoyed watching different kinds of dance. I joined here and there a little bit. Unfortunately it was disappointing when they stopped.

WHAT WOULD YOU LIKE TO TELL NEWCOMING GIT SPOUSES?

Please join each one and every event of GIT. You will make great friendships and see lots of places. And!!! You need it! You are in a new culture, environment. GIT made me hang on in Eindhoven.

 

Leave a Reply

